RSS

For Your Healing

02 Jul

photo-1498575207492-cfbed56146c0

This is my first post after a very long absence. The reason being is that I got sick – been diagnosed with conditions one after another. I got hospitalized for 8 days and been on multiple medications for many months, which made me nauseous and lethargic. I didn’t have the interest or the energy to do anything else except to just lie down and wallow in my predicament.

I had another autoimmune disease, which according to the medical community will be with me for the rest of my life. My life had been at the standstill and housework and other responsibilities had been on hold while I dealt with all of my medical conditions.

I may not post regularly, but as long as there is life in me, I will continue writing about my first love, Jesus Christ. After all, this is my Great Commission.

Now that I’m back, this blog post will deal with healing. So here goes…

As Christians, we partake of the Lord’s Supper and this is in commemoration with what Jesus did for us on the cross.

Harshly beaten by the Romans.

Back scourged until all flesh was open and bloody.

Bones fully exposed.

Suffered the gruesome death on the cross.

If you have watched the movie, The Passion of the Christ, Jim Caviezel did a good job of portraying Jesus.  I can still remember watching it with silence and with goosebumps on my skin. I told my husband to hold me because I was uncomfortable and somewhat shivering just thinking of what the real scenario was.

He was badly beaten that his skin was dark and you can’t even look at him because it’s too much for humans to take. “He was beaten so we could be whole. He was whipped so we could be healed.” (Isaiah 53:5).
(I Peter 2:24).

Take it in faith that by his wounds you are healed. Just like your salvation, you took in faith that what Jesus did on the cross was for the forgiveness of your sins and the surety of your heavenly eternal destination.

He endured it all because of his great love for us and saw the future of what it can do for you and the joy it would bring him forever.

In the Gospels, Jesus healed all who came to him for healing – blind, deaf, mute, paralytic, demon-possessed, issues of blood disorders, skin diseases and even brought the dead to life.

Our God is omnipotent and nothing is impossible for him, but how come we have doubts believing that he can heal us no matter what we are suffering?

Do we have hidden sin in our lives which cause God not to listen to our prayers? Or maybe we don’t have enough faith. After all, He said, “without faith, it is impossible to please Him?” (Hebrews 11:6).

It’s true that if we harbor sin, there is a gap in our relationship with God, but it doesn’t remove us from being his child. We are still a part of his family, no matter what. As long as we confess our sins, he forgives us and makes us clean again. A close relationship is once again restored.

Regarding faith, God said, “if you had faith even as small as mustard seed, you could say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it would move. Nothing would be impossible.” (Matthew 17:20)

Even if we only have little faith as small as a mustard seed, we can move mountains, sickness, obstacles in our way. The key here is not of our own strength, but on the person who is the object of our faith.

We know God is Omnipotent, (all-powerful), Omniscient (all-knowing) and
Omnipresent (ever-present). These are his characteristics.

He is also the same yesterday, today and forever. (Hebrews 13:8).

He never changes or casts a shifting shadow. (James 1:17)

If Jesus healed them then, and He is the same as yesterday as today and forevermore, then surely He will do the same for you if you will only ask him.

“Keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for. Keep on seeking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks, receives. Everyone who seeks, finds. And to everyone who knocks, the door will be opened.” (Matthew 7:7-8)

All you need to do is the ask Him, right? Read the passage again and take it to heart for God said, “Everyone who asks, receives and everyone who seeks, finds. And to everyone who knocks, the door will be opened.” This verse is not selective only to the few, but to each and everyone.

Remember that God is omnipotent and can never lie. So whatever He says, you can bank on it.

If you think you don’t have enough faith, then be like the boy’s father whose son was demon-possessed who said to Jesus that, “he believes but needs help to overcome his unbelief.” (Mark 9:14-29)

The thing is though, Jesus’ timing doesn’t coincide with our timing. When you ask for healing, He may heal you that instant or he will use the medical community or you might have to wait for a while. But whatever it may be, rest assured that he hears your prayers and will answer it on His timetable. Just trust and believe while waiting for your breakthrough. Remember, God is Jehovah Rapha – The Lord who heals you.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 2, 2018 in Bible, christianity

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “For Your Healing

  1. Tessa

    February 10, 2019 at 1:24 am

    “The Passion of the Christ” moved me in quite a way as to bring me back from being lost. I did not consider myself religious at the time I saw that movie and the actor who played Jesus was perfect for the part. Sorry you are feeling so bad. May God bless you.

     
    • ReDiscover at 40

      February 10, 2019 at 1:58 am

      Hi Tessa. It’s good to know that the movie brought you back to God as it moved me to being more grateful for what Jesus did for me. I’m so much better now and will be sending out a post soon. Take care!

       
      • Tessa

        February 11, 2019 at 1:38 am

        Glad to hear you are feeling better.

         

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.