RSS

Day 4: A Story in a Single Image – Anthurium

11 Sep

photo-1428699190791-2c4f8b144d06While I was browsing the site for images for my assignment, the image that struck me was the picture of the anthurium. Alone, sad, dejected and was just lying idly by on the side all my herself. This is what I feel sometimes when I’m at a party or in certain occasions where everyone else are enjoying themselves, having a good laugh with others while I stay in the corner sulking (inwardly), and engrossed in my own little thoughts. Have you ever felt this way or it’s just me?

Even when other guests talk to me, I still felt I’m out of place and not a part of the group. I’m physically present but felt empty and can’t wait to go home and nurse my vulnerable self.

If you have ever been in this situation or will be experiencing similar feelings, I have good news for you. If you are a child of God, you are never alone. I repeat, you are never alone and never will be for the rest of your life. You know why, I’ll tell you why. As a child of God, you have the Holy Spirit that lives within you. He is that small, gentle voice that speaks and prompts you to go a certain way if you are headed for trouble. He is the one that enables you to do work and gives you the knowledge and wisdom for daily living.

Some people are not aware of the Holy Spirit’s presence in their lives. Some think that He is some kind of an invisible force. The Holy Spirit is a person, a third person in God’s Divinity. We have a triune God – God the Father, God the Son and God the Holy Spirit.  He was the same person that came to all the apostles (in the book of Acts) in the upper room that caused them to speak in other languages. Thus the Feast of the Pentecost was born and where the first church was created but this is a whole another story. I don’t want to be off-track here so let me go back to my original post. As I have said, the Holy Spirit dwells in us during our whole lifetime and whenever you feel sad, lonely and felt like you’ve been abandoned by family or friends, remember that we have the best friend who will never leave us alone no matter what and a friend that is closer than a brother. He is just waiting for us to converse with Him. One good book that I would recommend is Robert Morris’, The God I Never Knew to have a much better understanding of the Holy Spirit’s work in our lives and how we could cultivate an intimate relationship with our Father through Him.

Once you’ve established that, I can guarantee you that your life will never be the same and you will develop the spiritual fruits and the empty, void feeling of aloneness will be a thing of the past. Now don’t you think that is something to celebrate about? I sure bet it is.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 11, 2015 in emptiness, Holy Spirit, loneliness

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Day 4: A Story in a Single Image – Anthurium

  1. Joanna Lynn

    September 17, 2015 at 2:12 am

    Love, love, love this! Some time ago, I decided I needed to get to know the Holy Spirit more. I fell so in love with Him. I knew Who He was and His part in my life and that He lived in me, but I knew less of Him than Jesus and the Father. I will never be the same again! Thanks for writing the post!

     
    • ReDiscover at 40

      September 17, 2015 at 2:31 pm

      Thank you Joanna and glad to know of your relationship with Him. And yes, the Holy Spirit is the least known person in the Trinity but has a profound effect in a believer’s life. Glad you like it. Take care.

       
  2. mariaholm

    October 17, 2015 at 7:35 am

    I agree when I am in a similar situation as described in your post I pray to be lead to people who would like to talk and to somebody who would then be encouraged. I am never a ” group person” as I enjoy to d things alone, but at parties and other gatherings the situation can become tense

     
    • ReDiscover at 40

      October 18, 2015 at 5:37 am

      You’re not alone in this Maria for I also feel this way sometimes. I’m a private person myself but I try to reach out to others to form friendships.

       

Leave a Reply

 
