RSS

Psalm 23

22 Aug

This entry is part 3 of 6 in the series A Psalm of David

 

photo-1473172707857-f9e276582ab6

The LORD is my shepherd;
I have everything I need.
He lets me rest in green meadows;
he leads me beside peaceful streams.
He renews my strength.
He guides me along right paths,
bringing honor to his name.

Even when I walk
through the dark valley of death,
I will not be afraid,
for you are close beside me.
Your rod and your staff
protect and comfort me.

You prepare a feast for me
in the presence of my enemies.
You welcome me as a guest,
anointing my head with oil.
My cup overflows with blessings.
Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me
all the days of my life,
and I will live in the house of the LORD
forever.

WHERE ARE WE GOING?

In George Macdonald’s The Marquis of Lossie, a hunchback child moans constantly, “I dinna ken whaur I cam frae, and I dinna ken whaur I’m gaein’ till!” (I don’t know where I came from. I don’t know where I’m going to,”)

Omar Khayyam echoed the same sentiment when he said, “I come like water, and like wind I go! . . . I know not whither, willy-nilly blowing.”

The German philosopher Immanuel Kant devoted himself to resolving three questions: (1) What am I? (2) Whence came I? (3) Whither go I? But after a long life of research and analysis, the three questions remained unanswered for Kant.

Sadly, most people today don’t know where they are going either. They follow whatever seems right to them at the time. Some enjoy their journey and never questions their final destination. Others change directions constantly but never find the “right paths.”

Fortunately, we do not need to wander in the wilderness. Instead, God gives direction to those who seek him, guiding us along right paths.

As you travel physical paths today, take time to thank and praise God for guiding you spiritually and for helping you make wise decisions that bring “honor to his name.”

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 22, 2015 in A Psalm of David, psalm 23

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
