RSS

Psalm 23

08 Aug

  This entry is part 2 of 6 in the series A Psalm of David                

     In this series, we will be looking at how the Lord guides and protect us from danger and fears of any kind. In God’s Word, the sheep here is a parallel and is actually referring to us. When we are down or weary, it is God who keeps us safe and gives us rest as exemplified in verse 2 (the text that is in bold and in italics). We may not see it in our natural eyes, but God holds us in His mighty arms and uplifts us from any harmful circumstances so that we may not fall beyond our limit and capacity of handling the situation.


The LORD is  my shepherd;

a874ffab8c81f4af5a1efe4a2b0206d4I have everything I need.
He lets me rest in green meadows;
he leads me beside peaceful streams.
He renews my strength.
He guides me along right paths,
bringing honor to his name.

Even when I walk
through the dark valley of death,
I will not be afraid,
for you are close beside me.
Your rod and  your staff
protect and comfort me.

You prepare a feast for me
in the presence of my enemies.
You welcome me as a guest,
anointing my head with oil.
My cup overflows with blessings.
Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me
all the days of my life,
and I will live in the house of the LORD
forever.

TIPS FROM A SHEEPHERDER

In A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23, Philip Keller shares his experiences in raising sheep. He discovered  rather quickly that “sheep do not just take care of themselves … They require, more than any other class of livestock, endless attention and meticulous care.”

He also found that sheep do not rest or lie down unless they are free from fear, free from tension with other sheep, free of flies or other pests, and free from hunger. Keller then points out how the Lord delivers us from fear (2 Timothy 1:7), tensions (Philippians 4:6-7), irritations of daily life (John 14:27), and spiritual hunger (John 6:35).

Regarding peaceful streams, Keller says there are three ways sheep quench their thirst: (1) licking up the morning dew; (2) drinking water drawn from deep wells; or (3) drinking from flowing streams. Once again there are parallels to the Christian life. The morning dew reminds us of our need for spiritual drink as we start each day; the deep wells remind us of what God supplies to deepen our spiritual life; and the flowing streams remind us of the work of the Holy Spirit (see John 7:39) to lead us into truth.

Let us look to our great Shepherd to provide for us and lead us where we need to go.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 8, 2015 in personal devotion

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Psalm 23

  1. sandyvern

    August 12, 2015 at 1:53 am

    Cute lamb photo! Psalm 23 is always a favorite. And also love the theme of your blog…the stitching looks like a beautiful leather bound journal 🙂

    I have nominated you and your blog for the Liebster Award. Check out my blog tomorrow for the rules of accepting the award nomination, copy and paste the instructions and modify them to suit …Happy blogging!

     
    • ReDiscover at 40

      August 14, 2015 at 1:34 am

      Hi Sandy. I appreciate that you like my theme. It actually coincides with my own personal journal here at home (though mine is color black). Also thank you for nominating me for the Liebster Award. I’m humbled and honored – sorry for the delayed response for I’ve just been very busy these past days.

       

Leave a Reply

 
