RSS

My Story

06 Aug

ef5eca300708dcc6561bd5cafe9636d8
I’m the youngest of 4 kids and was educated in an exclusive school for girls run by the Benedictine Sisters where I spent my preparatory up to high school education. I finished a Degree of Doctor of Optometry and hold a Masters Degree in Public Administration. I was born in an influential family and being the youngest child, I was protected – way more protected and sheltered from the realities of life. As a result, I learned very little life skills but is somewhat balanced with scholarly knowledge.

I’m the granddaughter of a Christian minister and every Sunday was no ordinary day and mostly spent in going to the church and getting involved in religious activities. I was saved at 15 or 16 (can’t really remember) and my Christian life was more like a once-a-week Sunday affair and went on to live life like the rest of the world after the Sunday worship. Going to church was more like a habit and/or a responsibility – like having a check mark on the attendance sheet in the heavenly realm.

Even though I was raised in a Christian home where love, humility, and kindness was an everyday thing, I still felt a certain void in my life. I was on a roller-coaster ride wherein my good feelings were tied up to the excitement of the adventure with the activities that I was doing. Though I was a child of God, I never felt the power that was promised in His Word. I felt I was not steady and didn’t really have an anchor to rely on when bad circumstances went my way.

I then reevaluated my life and checked where I have gone wrong. I went to church, gave a tithe, served in the church but still, something was missing. It dawned on me one day as I listened to ministers that being a Christian is not just a once-or-twice-a-week affair where you spend an hour or two in the worship service. It is more of a relationship and light has finally shone through and found that this is what has been missing in my life through all these years –  My relationship.

My once-a-week affair then turned to a daily personal close relationship with God (reading the Bible, personal devotions, prayer) and now, I no longer have the empty void feeling that has been enveloping my life but is now replaced with joy, fulfillment, and satisfaction. Whenever I experience unpleasant circumstances, I am no longer moved for I know that everything that happens to me has a purpose and for my own benefit. Just like a tree, my roots have now gone deep and is anchored in God’s Word. He is no longer on the sideline but is involved in every area of my life.

My purpose for creating this blog is to help others know Jesus Christ and grow to be like Him. I want my readers to have an intimate relationship with God and carry out their divine purpose and the application of God’s Word to daily living.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 6, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “My Story

  1. cahall63

    August 6, 2015 at 3:47 am

    Well written! Yes, it really is all about the relationship. Everthing else flows out of that!
    I wonder how many of us who grew up in the church (my grandfather was a Christian Church minister) never really get that.

     
    • ReDiscover at 40

      August 6, 2015 at 3:07 pm

      Hi cahall63. Thank you for the wonderful comment and yes, our relationship with the Lord is the catalyst and the main ingredient in a Christian’s life. Take care.

       
  2. Stacey Lynn

    June 27, 2017 at 2:50 am

    So glad I came across your blog! This sounds a lot like my own story, so far as faith is concerned. I was the other side of the coin, however, in social status, raised in the Appalachian mountains of Eastern Kentucky with a daddy who was a miner and a mom who never even had a driver’s license. I do have that “every day” kind of faith – thank God! – but I often struggle with what I’m suppose to be doing. Presently, I spend a good deal of each day praying for my backslidden husband and for my children to be saved. I believe I will be spending a bit of time reading here, though. Thanks so much for your posts!

     
    • ReDiscover at 40

      June 27, 2017 at 5:08 am

      Hi Stacey Lynn. Thank you for sharing your story and the follow. I will help pray for your family’s salvation for 1 John 5:14-15 says, “Now this is the confidence that we have in Him, that if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us. And if we know that He hears us, whatever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we have asked of Him.” Take care and I’m following you back as well.

       

Leave a Reply

 
